Childrens books, memories and wonder

Cover of "Where the Wild Things Are"

Cover of Where the Wild Things Are

After being asked to write a review of George Knows by Mindy Mymudes I began reflecting on books I loved as a kid. Charlotte’s Web, by E.B. White, or Where the Wild Things Areby Maurice Sendak, and the wonderful A Wrinkle in Time, by Madeleine L’Engle. I had so much fun and excitement reading these and many more. I even go back sometimes an read beloved old favorites. They stand the test of time for me, I felt for the characters, then and now. I  guess we all have favorites from our childhood, books that inspired us to read more, or inspired the imagination, causing hours of day dreaming in and out of class. Do you remember being read to in class?

Reading time, for me, just made me more determined to read myself so I could do it whenever I wanted. It is the beginning of the learning stage, or more importantly, wanting to learn for a lot of children. Young students may want to read The Hobbit, by J.R.R. Tolkien at home and enjoy it again. Or the Lion the Witch and the Wardrobe, by C.S. Lewis is always a favorite read as a kid. Above and beyond the enjoyment from such stories is the desire to learn more, that comes from them at an early age. Once a kid learns to read and realizes the sky is the limit, it is an accomplishment that is often cherished. I know it was for me.

So how about it, what books inspired you, or just plain entertained you to the point you remember them now. Maybe you even pull them out, dust them off, and re-read them one more time.

Hmm?

About David McElligott

Recently received a B.A. My main discipline is Literature. I started this blog as a part of my desire to immerse myself even more with reading and writing. I love it all.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Childrens books, memories and wonder

  1. Pingback: BookViral | Victrocious

Leave a Reply

