The Raven, by Edgar Allen Poe

The narrator in this amazing work is haunted by his love Lenore, living in desolation and despair of his loss. He is visited by a Raven who has a one word vocabulary that is eerie and prophetic, saying “Nevermore”, merely this and nothing more. He would never see his beloved again, nevermore. The harshness of this poem comes from the repetition of the one word statement that says so much.

If you have never read this you should do so. It is worth the time, (and it is not a long poem). There is not much that I can add to the greatness of this work, so I will leave you with a stanza from the poem that I consider to be the most powerful.

‘Be that word our sign in parting, bird or fiend,’ I shrieked,
upstarting-
‘Get thee back into the tempest and the Night’s Plutonian shore!
Leave no black plume as a token of that lie thy soul hath spoken!
Leave my loneliness unbroken!- quit the bust above my door!
Take thy beak from out my heart, and take thy form from off my
door!’
Quoth the Raven, ‘Nevermore.’ Edgar Allen Poe

Thoughts?

Leave a Reply

