The Beatles, Part One

The fiftieth anniversary of the Beatles Ed Sullivan Show is on February ninth, in 2 days. I was not even born in 1964, but over the years I can see how their music influenced the bands I grew up on, and have loved my whole life. The Beatles music still holds up, despite what would be considered today, stone age recording equipment. I have personally loved the Beatles since my older brother introduced me to them in my pre-teen years. I remember the album Meet the Beatles when I was probably six or seven, Sergeant Peppers, The White Album, Revolver, Rubber Soul, they were all there in the back ground of any music I listened to. I would tell my brother John the music I was into and he would say something like, “Great, that’s cool, have you heard this before?” That’s when the Beatles albums came in.

Thanks John, it is still appreciated.

I have even more appreciation for The Beatles since I realized how their music influenced almost all music that came after. They expanded rock and roll from its roots to being anything the artist wants it to be. More distortion, ok, how about no distortion, that will work too. How about an oboe? Seriously, an oboe? That will work too. Anything you want can be in rock and roll because that is what it morphed into. Thanks to the Beatles. I have a theory on this, let me explain.

Rock and Roll came out of various music styles: blues, hillbilly country, gospel and even some free-wheeling jazz. The first real Rock and Roll stars were Elvis, Chuck Berry, Jerry Lee Lewis, Johnny Cash, and Little Richard just to name a few. In those days Rock and Roll was easily recognizable. A few guitars, bass, drums, maybe a piano and you were good to go. The lyrics were mostly about having a good time: Dances, cars, lover’s lane, being in love, all the classic Rock and Roll topics. These artists and songs are the icons of forties and fifties Rock and were those that started the flame that is rock and roll, that spark that has never gone out and will never go out. The Beatles, intentionally or not, found many uses for the fire that is Rock and Roll. They were writers who let themselves  expand their horizons.

More on this next post,

Thoughts?

Leave a Reply

